Vegetarian & Vegan
To ensure that wines are clear and bright and less likely to go hazy after bottling, some wines undergo a 'fining' process using animal products such as gelatine, isinglass, chitosan, casein, egg albumen and bull's blood. Theoretically, none of the fining agent remains in the final wine. Casein (derived from milk protein) and albumen (from egg white) would be acceptable for vegetarians, but not for vegans. As an alternative to animal products, Bentonite (a clay mineral) can be used to clarify the wine. Some winemakers make it clear on their label that no fining agents have been used by declaring their wine 'unfiltered'.
Please use the filters under 'Bottle Features' on the left hand side if you would like to differentiate between vegan and vegetarian wines.
There are no products matching the selection.