Vegetarian & Vegan
To ensure that wines are clear and bright and less likely to go hazy after bottling, some wines undergo a 'fining' process using animal products such as gelatine, isinglass, chitosan, casein, egg albumen and bull's blood. Theoretically, none of the fining agent remains in the final wine. Casein (derived from milk protein) and albumen (from egg white) would be acceptable for vegetarians, but not for vegans. As an alternative to animal products, Bentonite (a clay mineral) can be used to clarify the wine. Some winemakers make it clear on their label that no fining agents have been used by declaring their wine 'unfiltered'.
Please use the filters under 'Bottle Features' on the left hand side if you would like to differentiate between vegan and vegetarian wines.
Product Code: FS00309HThis is a luscious dessert wine, brimming with ripe botrytised fruit, both complex and intense. François Gerardin and son, Benoit, cultivate 40 hectares of rolling vineyard near Bergerac. More »MonbazillacSémillonDessert - Sweet but fresh13.0%Baked rice pudding with apple and cinnamon compote
Product Code: CS001CThe vineyard source for this wine is a closely guarded secret, but suffice to say it has a very fine pedigree! Full, rich and complex, it has honeyed flavours and good freshness to maintain balance. More »Sauternes & BarsacSémillonDessert - Sweet but fresh14.5%Tarte Tatin with Madagascan vanilla ice-cream and almond flakes
Product Code: AS00409HThe Hunter Valley has the perfect humid climate for making naturally sweet botrytis-affected wines. Produced in small quantities, this lemon, fig and honey sticky is ripe with clean balancing acidity. More »Hunter ValleySémillonDessert - Sweet & rich11.5%Vanilla panna cotta wirh rhubarb and strawberries